Articles and Blog

Learn more about Florida's Homestead laws and get helpful tips to make sure that your Homestead Savings™ are always maximized. Here you can stay up to date with changes to the laws that effect your Homestead Savings™ as well as read Homestead related articles from counties all over the state.

Florida Homestead Check Support Options Character
Homestead Exemptions For Senior Citizens

Homestead Exemptions For Senior Citizensmore_vert

Homestead Exemptions For Senior Citizensclose

Florida Senior Citizens - 65 Years or Older Homestead Exemption NOTE: This exemption applies by local ordinance only, so if it was not adopted for your county or municipality, then it may not be available to you. If you are 65 years of age or older, were living on your homestead property as of Jan. 1 of the year you file for this exemption, and had household income less than the amount set by the Florida Department of Revenue (about $30,000), you may be eligible for an additional exemption of up to $50,000!      Seniors and Low Income Seniors Who Maintain Long-Term Residency...

Florida's Deployed Military Property Tax Exemptions

Florida's Deployed Military Property Tax Exemptionsmore_vert

Florida's Deployed Military Property Tax Exemptionsclose

If you are a Florida Homeowner and service member that was deployed, you could be eligible for a reduction in your property tax bill. If you are a service member who was deployed outside of the US, Alaska, or Hawaii in support of a qualified military operation you may be eligible to receive an additional exemption based on the number of days you were deployed.   For example,  If you were deployed on such duty for 30% of the prior year, then you receive an additional exemption for 30% of the property taxes on your homestead that you would have otherwise paid.  This exemption...

About Florida's Named Storm Damage Assessments

About Florida's Named Storm Damage Assessmentsmore_vert

About Florida's Named Storm Damage Assessmentsclose

If your Homestead property is damaged by a named storm you can remodel up to 110% without increasing your assessed value! If your home was damaged by a named storm, make sure that you call your county property appraiser and request a Storm Damage Assessment. For a period of 3 years after the storm you may rebuild or remodel up to 110% of the square footage of your home without any increase in your assessed value on which you pay taxes! For example, if your home is 2500 square feet, you may rebuild or remodel up to 2,750 square feet with...